Batgirl Issue 14: Terror in the 3rd Dimension (Comic Review)

20120916-163253.jpg
Batgirl Issue 14: Terror in the Third Dimension

**** Out of 5

While most people spend their time reading Batman and Superman I’m reading Batgirl and Supergirl. What can I say I have a thing for strong action driven female characters and so therefore Batgirl and Supergirl very much appeal to me due to that. This issue of Batgirl features Supergirl with a horror twist, which really appealed to me as a horror fan.

Stephanie Brown (Batgirl) is spending her friday night playing games with her mother when Kara (Supergirl) shows up, desperate to be with someone her own age Steph and Kara head out for the night and end up going to see a Dracula movie playing in 3D, but Dracula (well a bunch of them actually) escape from the big screen and go on a rampage, but no need to worry as Bargirl and Supergirl got this covered.

This is a self contained issue so you could just pick right up and read it regardless if you’ve read the previous issues or not. This issue was a total blast with a fun and campy tone as Batgirl and Supergirl take down Dracula. Things are played up to camp value and this to me sort of has a retro feel. Like I said everything here is played light and fun and Stephanie and Kara work really well together both under their superhero personas and as regular folk. I just love the interaction between the 2 characters and this issue gave me a big smile while reading it.

The only downside is the story does move a little too fast and honestly I guess the best way to describe it is it feels like a page or 2 are missing, but don’t let that last comment prevent you from reading this since it was a lot of fun. The camp factor works well and I really enjoyed the interactions between Steph and Kara and also enjoyed it when they were Batgirl and Supergirl. This was just a really fun issue.

While it does move a little fast this is one of my favorites of the Batgirl series and this comes highly recommend if you just want some fun. Who needs Batman and Superman when I can read Batgirl and Supergirl!

20120916-163310.jpg

20120916-163315.jpg

20120916-163322.jpg

20120916-163327.jpg

20120916-163332.jpg

20120916-163337.jpg

20120916-163342.jpg

20120916-163347.jpg

3 Responses to “Batgirl Issue 14: Terror in the 3rd Dimension (Comic Review)”

  1. Victor De Leon Says:

    I have GOT to get this issue, man. Good post. It’s a great change of pace. You should do more comic book reviews, especially if they are horror or horror related. Thanks!

    • Thanks Vic. It was new for me, but not too bad for my first time.

      If you wanna read this I can email you the pages (I buy them through the app). Let me know if you want it I can email you pages.

      Perhaps I’ll review more Batgirl issues. I have a total of 14. There is another horror themed story arc. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

