Amityville 3D (1983) Review

20121013-202340.jpg
AMITYVILLE 3-D

** Out of 5

Tagline- Enter the Gateway to Hell at Your Peril

Release Date- November 18th, 1983

Running Time- 104-Minutes

Rating- PG

Screenplay- William Wales

Director- Richard Fleischer

Starring- Tony Roberts, Tess Harper, Robert Joy, Candy Clark, Lori Loughlin, Meg Ryan

The 3rd part in the never ending series that only seemed to get worse with each installment has John Baxter (Tony Roberts) buying the infamous house despite warnings and that pretty much sums up the plot. At the time of the release there was a slight 3D revival with such films as Jaws 3D and Friday the 13th Part 3 and while I didn’t see this in 3D I can’t see it really adding much since its mostly just bugs flying towards the screen or a Frisbee being thrown at the screen and perhaps seeing it in 3D might maybe make this a tiny bit more fun I’m still rather doubtful.

Writer William Wales delivers a boring script that’s poorly plotted with dull and lifeless characters. The script just seems to be made up as it goes along and there really isn’t much interesting here at all. From what I can gather this was the only movie written by Wales and I can’t say I’m surprised there is absolutely no structure to the screenplay.

Director Richard Fleischer doesn’t fare any better; Amityville 3D is poorly paced and devoid of any suspense or tension; unlike the other parts this movie has a PG rating rather than R, but I don’t think that is what hurts. A movie like this can get by with a rating under an R, but regardless Fleischer seems to be going through the motions. Everything about the direction is boring and lifeless with no excitement to any scenes. The 3D gimmick was just that and Fleischer doesn’t seem to have much of an interest in anything else and since its mostly bugs flying towards the screen it seems he didn’t get any of the 3D right as well.

Surprisingly this movie has a pretty decent cast and the actors do as well as they can with the poor material they had to work with. Amityville 3D is now best known for co-starring a young Meg Ryan in one of her earliest roles and Lori Loughlin of Full House fame in her first theatrical film.

Overall Amityville 3D, which also goes under the title Amityville III: The Demon is a rather boring movie that is lifeless and shallow. The first 2 are about the only good ones in the series and even they weren’t great, but compared to this they were masterpieces.

20121013-202404.jpg

20121013-202413.jpg

20121013-202423.jpg

20121013-202431.jpg

20121013-202437.jpg

20121013-202443.jpg

20121013-202450.jpg

20121013-202507.jpg

4 Responses to “Amityville 3D (1983) Review”

  1. Victor De Leon Says:

    Damn good cast for such a bad movie. I remember very vividly cursing and yelling at the awful 3D (I was a dumb teenager in NYC and I used to get away with shit like that) then eventually walking (or was it running?) out of the theater.

    • Most likely running lol

      Cursing and yelling is the right thing to do during this movie. It’s just so bad worst of all boring! But yeah cast was good, but they cannot salvage this mess.

      You into basketball? My movie watching will have to work around the Knicks come November. Got the preseason game on now. Not really paying attention though.

      • Victor De Leon Says:

        I’m a casual Knicks fan but my sister is an absolute Knickmaniac. She goes to the games often. I am mostly a diehard Baseball fan then Football after that.

      • Your sister is awesome since she’s a Knicks fan. I actually never went to a basketball game in my life. Here’s the real kicker. I could have gotten free tickets to a game, but didn’t feel like going that night. Then Melo gets traded to the Knicks and that was the game the tickets were for lol. I passed before the trade happened and was kicking myself after lol.

        I never got into football, I used to love baseball, but the Mets owners pretty much killed my love of the game, but I was a diehard as well.

Leave a Reply

