Daddy’s Girl (1996) Review

20130113-132145.jpg

DADDY’S GIRL

** Out of 5

Tagline- Evil Has An Innocent Face

Release Date- 1996

Running Time- 95-Minutes

Rating- R

Screenplay- Steve Pesce

Director- Martin Kitrosser

Starring- William Katt, Michele Greene, Roxana Zal, Gabrielle Boni

Rather lame thriller about a deranged young girl Jodi (Boni) that kills anyone that attempts to separate her from her father Don (Katt).

The script by Steve Pesce is rather poor with boring characters and a cliched plot that never does anything different than past films dealing with murdering children, only this film does it worse. More often than not parents blame other kids when their children gets in trouble since they can’t see the bad in their kids, but in this case Jodi is clearly mentally ill and how everyone is so oblivious is beyond me well everyone except one character. The attempt at family drama is boring and cliched. It seems Pesce wanted to make Jodi a mini Freddy Krueger since she often has a wisecrack to make after killing someone.

Director Martin Kitrosser best known for co-writing Friday the 13th Parts 3 & 5 and being a script supervisor on the films of Quentin Tarantino directs with no style and everything here is lifeless and dull, but to Kitrosser’s defense he doesn’t have much of a script to work with, but he still delivers a subpar movie with sluggish pacing and lackluster suspense. The whole production comes across as a TV movie on lifetime.

Gabrielle Boni as the evil child from hell Jodi delivers a really fun performance and one has to wonder how such actors as William Katt (Greatest American Superhero, Carrie) and Michele Greene (L.A. Law) got involved with this mess.

Overall Daddy’s Girl is a poor movie, but as bad as the movie is it does however work on the so bad its good level at times at certain times. I would recommend this on a boring night if only for a good laugh.

8 Responses to “Daddy’s Girl (1996) Review”

  1. I dunno…The movie I’m watching right now is so godawful and this one doesn’t sound much better… 😉

    • What movie you watching?

      As bad as this,was this was some funny moments in how poor it was.

      • Attack of the 50 Foot Cheerleader. I’m reviewing it tomorrow and really all I want to say about it is that I want to punch every individual involved with this movie in the face…

        Well, that can make for a good time sometimes. 😉

      • I only saw a few minutes of it. Yeah it was bad from what I saw, but I think Roger Corman was involved. So I can ease up lol.

        Will look for your review on it tomorrow.

        My review here was brief. Not much to really say besides it sucks lol.

  2. You summed it up accurately. Despite how bad the movie was, like you suggested, I did think the little girl delivered an excellent camped-up performance. I found myself actually rooting for her. I think she is the one we were supposed to be rooting for.

    • Thanks for the comment Steve. It’s been a while since I’ve seen the film so certain aspects now escape me. It wasn’t the worst film I’ve seen, but that’s not really a compliment either lol

      • It appears she left acting and moved to North Carolina:

        https://www.linkedin.com/pub/gabrielle-boni/50/65/241

        Several years ago, I found her on Facebook and sent her a message (just one) complimenting her acting on the film. She didn’t respond, and then she oddly changed her name on her profile afterwards.

      • Some people wanna put their past behind them. Though it is a bit rude. I haven’t really been active on this blog in months. At some point I’ll return, but if you leave a comment I’ll reply. You took time to comment I think it’s only polite I do the same.

        I used to have a show on blogtalkradio. Not sure how into horror and cult films you are, but I interviewed Debbie Rochon, Tiffany Shepis and Adrienne King. All were great. A few others all great. Filmmaker Lucky McKee total dick. Some people are simply put assholes.

Leave a Reply

