Top 15 Scream Queens

What exactly makes a Scream Queen? Is it someone who has appeared in many horror films? What about an actress that made 1 horror film that she gave a great performance to go along with a great film? Many people will say you need a few horror films to be a Scream Queen and that’s fair enough, but what about if most of those films are terrible? So with this list I decided that it doesn’t matter if you have 1 credit or 100. All that matters is quality of the film and performance.

I know some will disagree with me including actresses that aren’t really known for horror, but again it’s about quality more than anything else. There were several actresses left out that I really wanted to include such as Daniela Doria, Zora Kerova, Lorraine De Selle and they almost made the cut, but in the end decided against it.

(For some reason I am having trouble with uploads so if any pictures don’t show sorry about that.

15. Hayden Panettiere

Notable films- Scream 4

20130319-141150.jpg

I know many will disagree with my placing of Hayden at number 15 and I could have placed several other actresses here, but I went with Hayden because Kirby in Scream 4 is just awesome! A hot chick who loves horror. As much as I liked Scream 4 without Hayden it might have been a little less.

14. Franca Stoppi

Notable Films- Beyond the Darkness, The Other Hell

20130319-141250.jpg

Her character Iris was downright creepy in Beyond the Darkness and while that may be her most notable credit (she has done other horror flicks) Iris is one of the more memorable characters and Stoppi more than deserving.

13. Marilyn Burns

Notable films- The Texas Chainsaw Massacre

20130319-141414.jpg

Like the above she has a couple more credits, but TCM is all she needs. I easily could have rated her higher. Besides a great performance the hell that she went through while filming alone gets her on this list. As Sally, Marilyn Burns was great and sure I could fill this up with other actresses with tons of credits, but none of those actresses gave as strong a performance or were in as good a film.

12. Lisa Wilcox

Notable films- A Nightmare on Elm Street 4 & 5

20130319-141532.jpg

I always preferred Alice over Nancy. That’s just me, but for certain purposes I couldn’t rate Lisa Wilcox higher. I just love how Alice starts and what she becomes. From shy nerd to kick ass chick ready to kick Freddy’s ass

11. Corteney Cox

Notable films- Scream, Scream 2, Scream 3, Scream 4

20130319-141654.jpg

Nobody can play the bitch like Corteney and rather than wanna see her meet a grisly end you root for her to survive. Her performances are hysterical and she always brings the fun factor to the Scream movies.

10. Cristina Galbo

Notable films- What Have You Done to Solange, The Killer Must Kill Again, Living Dead at Manchester Morgue

20130319-141816.jpg

One of the most stunning women to grace the screen, in all her films, Cristina not only brings beauty, but something innocent and naive to her performances.

9. Jennifer Love Hewitt

Notable films- I Know What You Did Last Summer, I Still Know What You Did Last Summer

20130319-141927.jpg

I know some will disagree with J. Love on the list and perhaps as high as she rates. What guy wasn’t totally crushing on Jennifer back in the 90s? With her stunning looks, beautiful smile, J. Love brought the super hot girl next door quality to her films.

8. Catriona MacColl

Notable films- City of the Living Dead, The Beyond, House by the Cemetery

20130319-142043.jpg

Her work with Fulci was great and MacColl brought a lot of class and charm in her work with Lucio Fulci.

7. Heather Langenkamp

Notable films- A Nightmare on Elm Street, A Nightmare on Elm Street 3, New Nightmare

20130319-142249.jpg

I can hear the groans now over the ranking. Nancy is one of the greats for sure and the original Elm Street a masterpiece. Nancy wasn’t like most characters in horror films as she was not only smart, but didn’t need help in taking down Freddy. I’ve always loved the character and how she changed in the series.

6. Edwige Fenech

Notable films- The Strange Vice of Mrs. Wardh, Your Vice Is a Locked Room and Only I Have the Key, The Case of the Bloody Iris, Strip Nude for Your Killer, Hostel: Part II

20130319-142406.jpg

Is there any woman more stunning? I think not. Her Giallo work was truly excellent and it didn’t hurt she was always willing to shed her clothes. Edwige is one of my all-time favorites and wanted to rate her even higher.

5. Daria Nicolodi

Notable Films- Deep Red, Inferno, Tenebre, Phenomena, Opera

20130319-143424.jpg

Her work with Argento is brilliant and at times European horror isn’t always know for strong female characters, but with Deep Red she broke that. Through the years her work with Argento made her a staple in the horror genre and Daria who sadly sometimes gets looked over is a terrific actress.

4. Danielle Harris

Notable Films- Halloween 4, Halloween 5, Halloween, Halloween II, Hatchet II

20130319-142622.jpg

Danielle is probably the only child actor in a horror film that didn’t get on my nerves. As young Jamie Lloyd in Halloween 4 & 5, Danielle gave performances far beyond her years and her work with Rob Zombie in his Halloween films were great. Halloween II she really got to show off her acting range. But she will always be remembered as Jamie Lloyd and dare I say I liked her more than Laurie?

3. Sheila Keith

Notable Films- The House of Whipcord, Frightmare, The Comeback

20130319-142741.jpg

Sadly an actress that time has forgotten. Her work with Pete Walker is truly amazing. She was downright creepy in House of Whipcord and the Comeback, but Frightmare she was just chilling! Its sad many horror fans don’t mention her as she was a terrific actress and if she doesn’t seriously creep you out something must be wrong with you.

2. Jamie Lee Curtis

Notable Films- Halloween, The Fog, Prom Night, Terror Train, Halloween II, Halloween H20

20130319-142859.jpg

What can I say about Jamie that hasn’t already been stated before? Her title of the scream queen is more than fitting and deserving as her work in the genre is iconic for a reason. As Laurie Strode she set the bar on the woman in danger role. I often alternate on my top 2 picks since both are more than deserving.

1. Neve Campbell

Notable Films- Scream, Scream 2, Scream 3, Scream 4, The Craft

20130319-143024.jpg

This might be a surprise to some, but as Sydney, Neve Campbell set the bar for the modern scream queen. She was vulnerable, but not weak as she fights back at every turn. Neve brought this sweet tough innocence to Syd, but when push comes to shove she’ll kick your ass!

22 Responses to “Top 15 Scream Queens”

  1. Edwidge Fenech…………….. YUM

  2. Its fine the way you want to do it, but I would say a Scream Queen should be more noted for their horror film performances than anything else – someone that was in ‘Friends’ would not be included in my list. Other than Cox, I’m cool with everyone else (at least JL Hewitt did that ghost show for many years). Heather Langenkamp would be higher, I’m fine with Curtis and Campbell as 1 & 2. great list – got me thinking.

    • Courtney was great though. I won’t hold Friends against her. While Scream is about Syd, Gail did play a huge part and helped carry Scream 3 when Neve wasn’t on screen, which was a lot until midway.

      A case could be made for Heather being higher. In some ways I feel I should have rated her higher. But I still stand by picks and order.

      Thanks for stopping by. Next week I might do a 2nd list since many I left off could have made the cut

  3. Victor De Leon Says:

    Awesome list, bro! I like that you give Harris her props!

    • Thanks Vic, Danielle is my future wife lol. She was a candidate for top 3. Actually at one point I almost rated her over Jamie Lee. But as I thought more about it, made the changes to the order.

      I’m working on a follow up list, which should be up if not this week than next and one for the guys. Its all about the scream queens, but lets give the scream kings their day.

      • Victor De Leon Says:

        That sounds like a cool idea. Looking forward to it!

      • After that a slight break from WordPress. Still having upload problems. As I stated before writing on an iPad isn’t always easy. So time off to take my time to write. Them another break when basketball playoff starts (though seems like Knicks will exit in round 1 so small break,sadly).

        I might drop some reviews simply to clean out my files. But I got some fun things planned like 90s throwback week

      • Victor De Leon Says:

        90’s throwback week sounds really cool man! Keep the posts coming bro. Give me a shout if you need any help!

      • Will do. I got a few idea for 90s week. If you wanna take part in that. I’ll let you know what I got planned when I’m ready to start (as of now most likely after the Knicks are out of the playoffs which again should be quick sadly. So April sometime).

      • Victor De Leon Says:

        Sounds good! Sorry about the Knicks, man.

      • So am I lol. We’re getting killed by injuries. Our 3 best players out. As long as we avoid the 8th seed and get these guys back for the playoffs we have a chance to get past round 1.

        Just gotta be healthy and avoid the 8th seed so we don’t play Miami in round 1. But seems like this ain’t our year. Again lol

    • Hey Victor your gravatar does not link to your site.

  4. cool post, now I have to go and watch some films with Edwige Fenech. Da da da Damn!

  5. Excellent list! Jamie Lee Curtis, Heather Langenkamp, and several others, I, of course, expected to see on a list of Scream Queens, but I was thoroughly impressed with your pick of Sheila Keith.

  6. […] https://lastroadreviews.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/top-15-scream-queens/ (sorry if it isn’t clickable). There were many actresses left off and there were some that many will debate on being on there. Also people will debate the order and even I even still debate my choices and order. But what I like to do is get the best list possible and not make it a popularity contest, but I also don’t wanna add more underground actresses just for the sake of it. I know my readers or a good portion of them are legit horror fans that know the genre and will know the lesser know a or the very least heard of them. But I always with any list try and not only find the right balance, but order as well. I don’t wanna again make it a popularity contest, but I do wanna just focus on underground to be different. […]

Leave a Reply

