Not Quite Zombies. My Top 10 Infected Movies

A lot of times the films on my list are linked with zombie films and while they follow the same basic formula there is a difference even if its very minor in some cases. I prefer zombie films, but what I like about infected movies is it really out of the realm of possibility? From various type of flus, chemical and biological warfare to stuff being created by scientist. Now I don’t expect something like in these films to happen, but hey who knows…….

So here is my top 10 infected films, every film listed in my opinion is a quality film on some level.

10. Nightmare City

20130405-005431.jpg

This is one of those films you can debate. At times its more zombie than infected so it really can go either way. Fun film by Umberto Lenzi with some pacing issues, but fans of Euro cinema should enjoy.

9. The Omega Man

20130405-005614.jpg

Solid film based off the Richard Matheson novel I Am Legend. Charlton Heston, while good perhaps miscast. Fun film that had potential to be more, but still a solid film.

8. The Last Man on Earth

20130405-005736.jpg

Also based on the Matheson novel and this was the best adaption. While pacing can be an issue it also captures this great feel of being alone. Price was great and is what makes the film what it is.

7. I Drink Your Blood

20130405-005912.jpg

Rabid infected satanic hippies. Need I say more? This is just a fun film from a great era. While sluggish in some spots it always has a charm about it.

6. Quarantine

20130405-010038.jpg

Remake of Rec and while its pretty much a rehash it does have an eerie feel and Jennifer Carpenter delivers a truly great performance.

5. Rec

20130405-010134.jpg

One of the few modern horror flicks I find to be really creepy. This was a great and tense film and none of the sequels or the remake for that matter were able to match this on the scare factor.

4. Grapes of Death

20130405-010303.jpg

I enjoy what I have seen from Jean Rollin, but I never expected this to be as good as it was. The film is loaded with suspense and is quite eerie. Rollin mad a truly great and scary film.

3. 28 Days Later

20130405-010427.jpg

Is it a zombie movie or not? I say no obviously since its on this list. Great film and quite eerie. The deserted streets of London was quite terrifying.

2. 28 Weeks Later

20130405-010548.jpg

Once it gets going it never lets up. To me this like the original is prime horror filmmaking.

1. The Crazies

20130405-010644.jpg

One of Romero’s best films that doesn’t quite get the respect it deserves. Scary and suspenseful with great characters.

10 Responses to “Not Quite Zombies. My Top 10 Infected Movies”

  1. I liked Quarantine also, I own both it and Rec. In the end Rec seems like more of a demonic possesion flick (on a mass scale) and Quarantine seems more like a outbreak/zombie flick.

  2. What did you think of the new crazies?

  3. Cool list. Nice to see The Last Man on Earth get a mention. I really like that film.

  4. Omega Man for the Win!!!!!

Leave a Reply

